Kraumur List 2011


The Kraumur List 2011

The Kraumur Music Fund’s annual award for albums was introduced today. The six albums that were selected to be on the list are all exceptional; they show the originality and ambition of the artists. A total of 20 albums were nominated for the awards. Prioritising between all the quality albums that were on the list and were released in 2011 was not easy and therefore evident that the music year was prosperous.

Árni Matthíasson, the chairman of the selection committee, announced the prize albums that are six as has been in the last two years.  The allocation of the prizes took place in Kraumur headquarters at Vonarstræti 4b.

The Kraumur List 2011 – Prize albums

  • ADHD – ADHD2
  • Lay Low – Brostinn Strengur
  • Reykjavík! – Locust Sounds
  • Samaris – Hljóma Þú (ep)
  • Sin Fang – Summer Echoes
  • Sóley – We Sink

The Kraumur List’s (sometimes called the Kraumur Prize) objective is to support the release of albums from Icelandic bands and artists by supporting and promoting new and exciting material and work that exceed others in quality, ambition and originality. The award is not linked to any particular musical genre and there are no subcategories.  The organisers of the awards hope they can promote the diversity of Icelandic recordings, now that Christmas is near and the artists rely on the sale of their work for Christmas gifts.


Kraumur will emphasise the support of all the artists that are selected for the Kraumur List, rather than focusing only on the prize album. The Fund will support the albums on the Kraumur List and also assist in increasing the artists’ opportunities to promote their work internationally by buying a certain number of copies of the albums and distribute them to various professionals in the international music business (music festivals, recording studios, agencies etc.).

The selection committee of the Kraumur List 2011 consists of the following people:

Alexandra Kjeld, Andrea Jónsdóttir, Anna Andersen, Arnar Eggert Thoroddsen, Arndís Björk Ásgeirsdóttir, Árni Matthíasson, Benedikt Reynisson, Berglind María Tómasdóttir, Egill Harðarson, Eldar Ástþórsson, Elísabet Indra Ragnarsdóttir, Helena Þrastardóttir, Helga Vala Helgadóttir, Hildur Maral Hamíðsdóttir, Höskuldur Daði Magnússon, Kamilla Ingibergsdóttir, Ólafur Páll Gunnarsson, Ómar Eyþórsson, Trausti Júlíusson and Þorkell Máni Pétursson.

The Kraumur List 2010 – Prize albums

  •       Apparat Organ Quartet – Pólyfónía
  •       Daníel Bjarnason – Processions
  •       Ég – Lúxus upplifun
  •       Jónas Sigurðsson – Allt er eitthvað
  •       Nolo – No-Lo-Fi
  •       Ólöf Arnalds – Innundir skinni

The Kraumur List 2009 – Prize albums

  •       Anna Guðný Guðmundsdóttir – Vingt regards sur l’enfant Jésus
  •       Bloodgroup – Dry Land
  •       Helgi Hrafn Jónsson – For the Rest of my Childhood
  •       Hildur Guðnadóttir – Without Sinking
  •      Hjaltalin – Terminal
  •       Morðingjarnir – Flóttinn mikli

The Kraumur List 2008 – Prize albums

  •       Agent Fresco – Lightbulb Universe
  •       FM Belfast – How to Make Friends
  •       Hugi Guðmundsson – Apocrypha
  •       Ísafold – All Sounds to Silence Come
  •       Mammút – Karkari
  •       Retro Stefson – Montaña

The objective of Kraumur List

  •       To introduce and promote Icelandic music, especially the release of music by young artists and bands.
  •       To award and promote original and interesting Icelandic music albums released each year.
  •       To award and promote music albums which are exceptional in quality, ambition and originality.
  •       There is no age limit for receiving grants but the aim is to focus on the younger generation of Icelandic musicians and bands.
  •       The policy of the Kraumur List is to focus on all the titles selected by the selection committee, rather than only one prize album.
  •       The award is not linked to any particular musical genre and there are no subcategories.
Lettie Stuart Pottery School Exhibition

Lettie Stuart Pottery School Exhibition

We are delighted to share the resounding success of the recent Pottery School Exhibition held at Lettie Stuart Pottery in Waterloo on March 14th. The event, hosted by Aurora Foundation, was a vibrant celebration of the remarkable progress achieved by the students of...

Business Model Canvas training – IR Bootcamp

Business Model Canvas training – IR Bootcamp

On March 12th, the Aurora Foundation Training Center buzzed with entrepreneurial energy as we hosted a dynamic Business Model Canvas training session tailored for IR Bootcamp startup businesses. Facilitated by our adept Aurora Impact Programme Manager, Mavis Madaure,...

Successful compelition of ICT Webpage Development Overview Course

Successful compelition of ICT Webpage Development Overview Course

We are excited to share the successful conclusion of our recent 2-week ICT Web Development overview and outline course, finalized on February 27th at the Aurora Office Training Center. Participants joined us on February 12th for a week-long exploration of ICT Webpage...