Kraumur Music Awards shortlist 2021 announced


Aurora is proud to announce that today the shortlist for the Kraumur Music Awards for 2021 was announced. It is an annual music prize awarded for the best albums released by Icelandic musical artists.

This is the fourteenth year in a row that Kraumur Music Awards announces its shortlist of albums that are thought to have excelled during the year in terms of quality, ambitions and originality.

There is a great diversity of musical varieties on the list this year and the jury had a particular difficulty shortlisting this year as the amount of released music was exceptional. Music on the shortlist this year includes pop, hip hop, techno and electronic and experimental music, house, and jazz music.

The Kraumur Music Awards short list is chosen by a panel of 9 people that have extensive experience from the Icelandic music scene in one way or another. On the panel this year were Árni Matthíasson (chairman), Arnar Eggert Thoroddsen, Helga Þórey Jónsdóttir, Lovísa Rut Kristjánsdóttir, María Lilja Þrastardóttir, Óli Dóri, Rósa Birgitta Ísfeld, Trausti Júlíusson og Þorbjörg Roach Gunnarsdóttir and they will now consequently choose 6 records out of the nominated ones that will be awarded this year’s prize.

The Kraumur Music Awards aim at supporting music release and musicians in Iceland and now over seventy artists and musical bands have received the prize, most of them early on in their careers.

The list this year has both records from well-established musicians as well as exciting newcomers. There were almost 400 Icelandic releases judged by the panel for the shortlist this time. Out of those, the following make up this year’s shortlist:

  • Eva808 – Sultry Venom
  • Sucks to be you, Nigel – Tína blóm
  • Sóley – Mother Melancholia
  • Bára Gísladóttir/Skúli Sverrisson – Caeli
  • Supersport! – Tveir Dagar
  • Tumi Árnason – H L Ý N U N
  • BSÍ – Stundum þunglynd …en alltaf andfasísk
  • Inspector Spacetime – Inspector Spacetime
  • Hush – Blackheart
  • Skrattar – Hellraiser IV
  • Hist og – Hits of
  • Drengurinn fengurinn – Strákurinn fákurinn
  • Pínu Litlar Peysur – PLP EP
  • Nonnimal – Hverfisgata
  • Ægir Sindri Bjarnason – The Earth Grew Uncertain
  • Elli Grill – Púströra fönk
  • Countess Malaise – Maldita
  • Mikael Máni – Nostalgia Machine
  • Ekdikesis – Canvas of A New Dawn
  • Birnir – Bushido
  • Slummi – ndm


Photo: From the (exceptional) 2020 award ceremony



Exciting change at the Aurora Foundation store in Freetown!

Exciting change at the Aurora Foundation store in Freetown!

We're excited to introduce a new addition to the Aurora Foundation Store. In addition to our renowned Sierra Leonean Home Goods, we're now also selling books by Sierra Leonean authors!To celebrate this new feature we are hosting this special event! REGISTER HERE 🌟...

Second Container this year shipping to Europe!

Second Container this year shipping to Europe!

Sweet Salone's Fifth Container Shipment: A Journey of Growth and Collaboration Over the past few years, Sweet Salone, a flagship project of the Aurora Foundation, has embarked on a journey of growth and collaboration. Now, as Sweet Salone prepares to ship its fifth...