Congratulations winners of Kraumur Music Awards 2017!


Our congratulations to the Kraumur Music Awards winners of 2017!

Cyber – Horror

GlerAkur – The Mountains Are Beautiful Now

Hafdís Bjarnadóttir – Já

JDFR – Brazil

SiGRÚN – Smitari

Sólveig Matthildur – Unexplained miseries & the acceptance of sorrow

This is the 10h time that Kraumur, Aurora´s Music Fund, presents the Kraumur Music Award for Icelandic albums that are thought to have excelled during the year in terms of quality, ambitions, and originality.

All types of music are considered for the shortlist and there are no categories. All types of releases are considered, whether it is vinyl, cd, or only online.

In total 45 bands or musicians have received the Music Awards since they were first presented in 2008. Further information and a list of all receivers of the Kraumur Music Awards can be found here.

A lot has been happening in the Icelandic music scene during the year as the Panel reviewed 374 albums and releases in their quest to find the winners of the Kraumur Music Awards 2017.


The Kraumur Music Awards shortlist is chosen by a panel of 14 people that have extensive experience from the Icelandic music scene in one way or another. The panel in 2018 are made up of the following persons;

Árni Matthíasson (chairman), ), Andrea Jónsdóttir, Anna Ásthildur Thorsteinsson, Alexandra Kjeld, Arnar Eggert Thoroddsen, Benedikt Reynisson, Berglind Sunna Stefánsdóttir, Heiða Eiríksdóttir, Helga Þórey Jónsdóttir, Hildur Maral Hamíðsdóttir, Jóhann Ágúst Jóhannsson, Tanya Pollock, Trausti Júlíusson and Óli Dóri.


The Kraumur Music Awards shortlist for 2017:

Alvia Islandia – Elegant Hoe

Baldvin Snær Hlynsson – Renewal

Bára Gísladóttir – Mass for Some

Biogen – Halogen Continues

Bjarki – THIS 5321

Cyber – Horror

Dodda Maggý – C series

Elli Grill & Dr. Phil – Þykk Fitan Vol. 5

Eva808 – Prrr

GlerAkur – The Mountains Are Beautiful Now

Godchilla – Hypnopolis

Fersteinn – Lárviður

Hafdís Bjarnadóttir – Já

Hatari – Neysluvara EP

JFDR – Brazil

Joey Christ – Joey

kef LAVÍK – Ágæt ein: Lög um að ríða og / eða nota fíkniefni

Legend – Midnight Champion

Nordic Affect – Raindamage

Pink Street Boys – Smells like boys

SiGRÚN – Smitari

Sólveig Matthildur – Unexplained miseries & the acceptance of sorrow

Úlfur – Arborescence

Two new groups of ICT graduates!

Two new groups of ICT graduates!

Despite the rains and challenges, Aurora Foundation and Byte Limited were able to host two groups of ICT classes over the past two weeks, both Beginner trainings. One class took place in the morning with trainer John, and the other in the afternoon with trainer...

Another successful ICT course at Aurora

Another successful ICT course at Aurora

From the 4th to the 15th of July, Aurora foundation and Byte Limited were honoured to host another ICT training for beginners during the afternoon hours. Eighteen students graduated after the exam and were awarded certificates during the graduation ceremony. We thank...

New ICT graduates!

New ICT graduates!

Last week we were able to congratulate not one, but two groups of ICT students with a certificate after they passed their exam! The past two weeks we had the pleasure of hosting an Intermediate ICT training during morning hours, and a Coding Bootcamp in the afternoon....